ITQ Level 1 and 2

Start Date:
Finish date:

Course Description

ITQ is the new standard IT user qualification. It has been developed by the national sector skills council for ICT and e-Skills UK. ITQ is based on recognised National Occupational Standards in IT which cover a wide range of everyday and workplace skills.


ITQ is flexible, modularised and current. Individual units are available for ‘bite-sized’ learning over short courses that can be combined into fully recognised qualifications, using a government approved credit based framework.


These courses are handson and assessed in class by the tutor. They are verified by the awarding body but there are no timed examinations or tests.

ITQ units are available in the following subjects:


  • Word Processing
  • Internet and email (IT Communication)
  • Fundamentals
  • Spreadsheets
  • Desk Top Publishing
  • Presentation Software
  • Databases
  • Imaging Software e.g. Adobe Photoshop Elements
  • Design Software e.g. Serif Drawplus
  • Website Software
  • Improving Productivity Using IT (core unit) Award and Certificate-sized qualifications available:
  • Level 1 (Foundation) ITQ in IT User Skills
  • Level 2 (Intermediate) ITQ in IT User Skills


Location: A wide range of community venues. Please enquire
Entry Requirements: Some knowledge of using computer applications or an NOCN entry level 3 course (see above)
Course Duration: Level 1 is 24 hours over 12 weeks, Level2 is 30-36 hours over 12-15 weeks. Please enquire about specific courses
Start Date: Various start dates throughout the year. Please enquire

Enquire about this course: ITQ Level 1 and 2

About You

Please note that due to HM Government funding rules, we need to know your age to check your eligibility for our courses. If you would like to find out more, please contact us


* required

S5 Box


You need to enable user registration from User Manager/Options in the backend of Joomla before this module will activate.